Skip to content

Mind Blogging

July 31, 2008

Is Blogging Therapeutic?

Here’s this conversation I had with my daughter the other day as she wanted to make sure I’d promise to take her to some salon to get her nails done after she gets out of the bath. I said “sure.” She then let me know that it would be another 45 minutes before she is ready. I was like, “oh nice, 45 minutes of bliss.” Yeah, it just came out. I laughed and said “well, ya know you have always talked non stop since you were able to talk.” “The apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree.” she quipped. I looked at her quizzedly and said “The apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree? ….I’m more like you than I’d like to think?” Then, I scoffed *incredulous look on my face* and said “We’re night and day.” She smiled and said, “I talk a lot and you blog and read blogs a lot.” She’s exaggerating, she always does. But, it’s true, talking and blogging is not too far from each other. Both are different modes of expression. Expressing is therapeutic. When we talk, we express. Right?

According to a Newsweek article, “My Shrink Says….Blog!”, blogging is therapeutic. It’s a place to confess, vent; a creative outlet and an excercise in exhibitionism. Journal CyberPsychology & Behavior says that bloggers are happier than non-bloggers. John Suler says, that being anonymous is also a therapeutic boost. But, revealing too much can cause shame or guilt. So, it is just getting the right mix, strategize how you’ll manage your blog and you’ll save lots of money on psychiatrists. Cool.

It’s not to say that we even need a psychiatrist in the first place, but consider it a form of “mind” workout in the same vein as a physical workout. It’s been proven that people are less likely to suffer from age old neurological maladies if they kept their brain busy with crossword puzzles and the like. If any of you have done things to make your look age younger, such as getting a botox, you might want to also compliment that by keeping your mental age younger by doing mind simulating things such as sudoku.

Blogging is another mind stimulating thing to do so, I can see how it would be therapeutic for many. Some of us write diaries, others keep a journal, and then there’s bloggers like me who just want to write. It’s all the same, if not from the same tree.

Several bloggers/writers have written about it’s therapeutic properties:

Therapeutic Value of Blogging

Why Blog

Blogging Give Therapeutic Aid to Patients

Blogging is Therapeutic

Blogging – Therapeutic So Says AOL



Out of four game series (Cubs vs Brewers), Cubs won three games! One more game to go, which is today. Well, this is awesome! I know there’s like maybe another 50 more games or so before the playoffs and the World Series. I really think Cubs did well this year.

In the next post, I will compile several news and stuffs about the crazy things fans do at these games. That is, only if Cubs win the last game. So, you better be rooting for them. Doesn’t matter how you do it as long as you wish them well. :) I’m kidding, I’ll write a post about it…soon. Go! Cubs! Go!


~Live today. And live it well.~

Song lyrics | Disturbia lyrics

  1. Ann_C permalink
    August 3, 2008 16:38

    How interesting you wrote this article just before Jack Barr’s vlog ‘AGBell Funeral’ (which was pulled after it was red-flagged) and the subsequent article that MZ just wrote that oral survivors should vlog about their oral survival stories as a form of therapy. Hmmmm.

  2. August 3, 2008 18:20

    Yeah, I noticed that.

    I actually think it is good for someone to have a website where they can share their horror stories of being abused at some oral school or within the oral system. I know they’re real. I have witnessed a few. I have heard LOTS, most recently at St. Joseph’s reunion this summer.

    However, I hope they will be smart to keep it separate from other entity that promote, raise awareness, and/or advocate for Bi Bi.

    Keep it separate. It will be a win-win for all.

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

